Gun Lawyer Brick NJ
Understanding The Basics on Gun, Firearms & Weapons in Brick NJ
One of the most important things to keep in mind when moving to a new city is what the gun laws are. This is especially true if you are coming from a county or city with extremely different weapon laws than the ones in your new home.
For instance, if you are moving to New Jersey from a state that has extremely lax gun laws, it is important to know what the gun laws are in New Jersey prior to you bringing any firearms with you.
How Can I Get a Permit to Purchase a Pistol in Brick, NJ?
Any resident of the State of New Jersey who wants to buy a pistol needs to first get a permit to purchase firearms from the chief of police in the municipality where they live. The applicant needs to be at least 21 years of age and must not be prohibited from possessing a gun under state or federal law.
To get a license to acquire a firearm, the candidate needs to:
- Complete an application form provided by the police chief. The application must include the candidate’s name, address, date of birth, social security number, and a brief description of the pistol or the firearm to be acquired.
- Submit to a criminal background check.
- Acquire a certificate of eligibility from the New Jersey State Police.
- Pay a fee of $50.00.
Upon the receipt of the completed application, background check, and certificate of eligibility, the police chief will then provide a permit to purchase if the applicant is not prohibited from having a firearm. The license will be valid for 90 days from issuance and may purchase one pistol.
They should present the license to purchase to the seller of the handgun at the time of purchase. The seller will then complete a sales record and then forward it to the New Jersey State Police within 7 days of the sale.
It is important to note that a permit to buy does not enable the applicant to carry the firearm in public. For that, a separate license is required.
What Takes place When I Move from Brick, NJ? Will My Gun License Still Be Legal?
If you move to a new municipality within the state of New Jersey, your permit purchasing a firearm will remain valid. However, you must notify the police chief in the new municipality of your address modification within 30 days.
Will I Require a License to Purchase a Long Gun in New Jersey?
No license is required to buy a long weapon in the state of New Jersey. There is no limitation to the number of long weapons that might be bought at one time.
All long gun purchases should be reported to the New Jersey State Police within seven days. The report must include the buyer’s name, address, date of birth, Social Security number, and a description of the long gun bought.
Do I Need a License to Bring a Pistol in New Jersey?
You need a separate license to bring a handgun in public in the state of New Jersey. The procedure for getting a carry permit is like the procedure for obtaining a permit to buy. However, there are extra requirements.
If you are transferring to New Jersey and wish to bring your firearms with you, we can help you navigate the complex procedures and ensure you comply with the law. We can also help you get a carry authorization if you want to bring your pistol in public.
Give Evan Nappen Law a call today to set up a consultation. We will be more than happy to address questions that you may have.