Gun Lawyer Vineland NJ
POSSIBLE FIREARMS OFFENSES AND WEAPON CHARGES IN VINELAND NEW JERSEY
New Jersey firearms laws are strict and complex. There are specific laws that govern the registration, purchase, possession, and use of firearms.
Thus, it is very easy to be charged with a crime even if you probably didn’t know that you were doing something wrong. Here are several charges that you could face for owning or possessing a firearm in New Jersey;
- Possession Of a Firearm for Unlawful Purposes
It is a crime in new jersey to possess a firearm with the intent to use it unlawfully against another person or their property. This possession charge is typically regarded as a second-degree crime.
- Possession Of a Firearm Without a Permit
It is illegal to own or possess a firearm without a permit in new jersey. One is required to either possess firearms purchase identification card (FPIC) for a rifle or shotgun or a permit for a handgun.
If you are found in violation of this law, you could be facing jail time. Even if you were not doing anything wrong or planning to do anything wrong it is still in violation of the law and you will be charged.
- Possession Of Prohibited Firearms
Under the gun laws of New Jersey, certain firearms are prohibited these include machine guns and sawed-off shotguns. If you are found to be in possession of these firearms, you will be charged.
- Possession Of a Firearm While Committing Another Offense
If you are found with a firearm, while committing another crime, you can be charged with possession as a separate offense. It does not matter if you used or did not use the gun, once found in your possession it is treated as a separate offense.
- Persons Prohibited from Owning Firearms
Under the gun laws of New Jersey, there are certain groups of people who are prohibited from owning firearms, these include anyone who has ever been committed to a mental institution, individuals who have committed violent crimes, and people who have been convicted of domestic violence. If anyone who has been prohibited from owning a firearm is found to be in possession of one, they will be charged.
Penalties That One Can Face for A Weapons Charge In New Jersey
Weapons charges in New Jersey can carry severe penalties such as jail time and /or fines. The severity of your charge is dependent on two factors that are; the type of weapon used and the circumstances of the alleged crime.
There are four degrees of potential weapons charges that one could face. First-degree crimes are the most vital crimes, and one could face up to 20 years in prison.
Second-degree crimes could get you 5-10 years in prison or a fine of up to 150,000 dollars. These are the most common firearm charges in Jersey an example of such a crime would be the possession of a handgun without a license.
Third-degree crimes such as possession of a rifle without an appropriate license could land one in jail for 3 to 5 years or a fine of up to 15,000 dollars. Fourth-degree crimes could get one up to 18 months in prison or 10,000 dollars fine.
If you have any additional inquiries about weapon charges and the penalties that you might face or perhaps you are already facing a weapons charge, it is important to reach out to a professional. Gun, firearm & weapons Charge Attorney Evan Nappen Law can help you to navigate the process.
Contact a gun lawyer in Vineland NJ, Evan Nappen. Call (732) 389-8888.